Minutes 2006

Minutes from Scandinavian Society for Laboratory Animal Science, Scand-LAS 36th Annual General Meeting (AGM) at LO-höjskolen, Helsingör, Denmark, 7th April 2006, 16.30-17.00.

Present: See attendance list

§1. Opening of the meeting

The president, Ann-Christine Eklöf, greeted everybody and declared the meeting opened.

§2. Approval of the agenda

The agenda was approved.

§3. Election of chairman and secretary of the meeting

Jann Hau was elected chairman and Otto Kugelberg as secretary of the meeting.

§4. Questions concerning notice of the meeting

The AGM confirmed that the annual meeting had been announced in accordance with the bylaws.

§5. Election of two keepers of the minutes

To approve the minutes together with the chairman, the meeting elected Hans Jörgen Skovgaard Jensen (DK) and Timo Nevalainen (FIN).

§6. Roll-call by country

The total numbers of vote: 39	Denmark	10
(Including proxy votes: 48)	Finland	8
	Norway	4
	Sweden	13
	Estonia	3

§7 Register of proxy votes

9 proxy votes were registered: Tarja Kohila for Anna Meller (FIN)

Germany 1

Hanna-Marja Voipio for Veikko Lehteenmäki (FIN)

Ingvill Löken for Hanne Ruud (N) Gerd Torgersen for Randi Löken (N)

Ann-Christine Eklöf for Biborka Bereczky-Veress (SE)

Otto Kugelberg for Torgny Jeneskog (SE) Eva Swanberg for Lillebil Hagberg (SE) Aavo Lang for Andres Arend (EE) Kai Ökva for Paavo Pokk (EE)

§8. Presentation of the Board's report

The Board's report was briefly presented and approved by the meeting.

§9. Presentation of the auditors' report

Eva Swanberg presented the auditor's report.

§10. Acceptance of financial statement

The financial statement was approved by the AGM and put ad acta.

§11. Activity plan and budget for the subsequent period

Ann-Christine Eklöf referred to the "Activity plan 2006", which was enclosed in the documents of the meeting.

The activity plan and the budget for 2005 were approved by the AGM.

§12. Granting of authority for the Board for the remaining time in office

The AGM agreed to adopt the board's report for the last working period.

§13. Election of board members (including substitutes) from Norway and Sweden (2 years)

The chairman of the Election committee read the suggestions to the AGM, which were

Representatives of Norway	Aurora Brönstad	ordinary	re-elected for 2 years
	Morten Eriksen	substitute	re-elected for 2 years
Representatives of Sweden	Mats Sjöquist	ordinary	re-elected for 2 years
	Otto Kugelberg	substitute	new-elected for 2 years

The AGM voted to accept the Election committee's proposals.

§14. Election of auditors and their substitutes

The suggestion of the Election committee was:

Eva Swanberg, S	ordinary	re-elected 1 year
Otto Meyer, DK	ordinary	re-elected 1 year
Henrik Möllegaard, DK	substitute	re-elected 1 year
Anna Meller, FIN	substitute	re-elected 1 year

The AGM voted to accept the Election committee's proposals.

§15. Processing of proposals submitted to the board no less than eight (8) weeks prior to the meeting

None

§16. Processing of questions from the Board and the Accountant

None

§17. Processing of questions arising during the meeting

Timo Nevalainen informed about a letter from the EU-commisson 2006-02-01 with a questionnaire in support of preliminary impact assessment on the revision of Directive 86/609/EEC on the protection of animals used for experimental and other scientific purposes. The questionnaire has been developed in close cooperation with the European Commission and the project is carried out during January to October 2006. The questionnaire can be answered by institutions as well single persons and can be returned until 28 April. Once the preliminary findings are assembled, an internet consultation on possible optios for a revision of the Directive will be held by the EC which will give a further opportunity to contribute to the impact assessment process.

§18. Determination of membership dues for the subsequent period

After suggestion from the board, the AGM decided that the membership fee for 2006 should be unchanged at 275 SEK.

§19. Election of Nomination Committee

The AGM decided following committees in:

Denmark: Ingrid Fossar Larsen (convener), Lars Ellegaard, Hans Jörgen Skovgaard Jensen

Finland: Kristiina Haasio (convener), Ulla-Marjut Jaakkola, Marlene Mikkola

Estonia: Toomas Tiirats (convener), Paavo Pokk, Priit Poder

§20. Announcement of the time and place of next meeting

Aurore Brönstad informed shortly about the next annual meeting that will be held in Tromsö, Norway, 10th to 13th May 2007.

§21. Other proposals to be laid before the AGM.

- a) The meeting was informed that the financial situation for FELASA may cause a raised fee for member associations in a near future.
- b) The meeting was informed about the new Taconic award for the most cited paper in the Scandinavian Journal of Laboratory Animal Science (see Scand. J. Lab. Anim. Sci. 2006 Vol. 33(1): 53).

§22. Closing of the meeting

The chairman Jann Hau thanked everybody and closed the meeting.

Otto Kugelberg		
Adjust		
Jann Hau	Timo Nevalainen	Hans Jörgen Skovgaard Jenser